



## **FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE**

## TELEVISION ACADEMY FOUNDATION ANNOUNCES CELEBRITY PRESENTERS FOR 39<sup>TH</sup> COLLEGE TELEVISION AWARDS

Tichina Arnold, Jason George, Isabella Gomez, Kelly McCreary and Yeardley Smith Among Presenters for Awards Show Honoring the Best in Student-Produced Programs

**(NoHo Arts District, Calif., Feb. 13, 2019)** — The Television Academy Foundation today announced the first group of celebrity presenters and ticket sale information for the 39<sup>th</sup> College Television Awards to be held March 16, 2019.

The College Television Awards honors achievement in student-produced programs and will feature stars from today's top television shows presenting awards to winners in eight categories. Celebrity presenters confirmed to date include **Tichina Arnold** (*The Neighborhood*), **Melissa Barrera** (*Vida*), **Jaime Camil** (*Jane The Virgin/My Boyfriend's Meds*), **Jason George** (*Station 19*), **Isabella Gomez** (*One Day at a Time*), **Diane Guerrero** (*Doom Patrol*), **Ryan Guzman** (*9-1-1*), **Michael Mando** (*Better Call Saul*), **Jeanine Mason** (*Roswell, New Mexico*), **Kelly McCreary** (*Grey's Anatomy*), **RJ Mitte** (*Breaking Bad*), **Mishel Prada** (*Vida*), **Yeardley Smith** (*The Simpsons*) and **Sydney Sweeney** (*The Handmaid's Tale*).

"The College Television Awards acknowledges and celebrates outstanding student productions from across the country," said Madeline Di Nonno, chair of the Television Academy Foundation. "The program has served as a pathway for nominees and winners to ascend to very successful careers in the industry. Past nominees and winners are now working as editors, writers, producers and more on programs such as *The Handmaid's Tale, Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan, CBS This Morning, Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt, Grey's Anatomy, 60 Minutes* and *Empire.*"

Judged by Television Academy members, criteria for the College Television Awards reflects industry standards of excellence, imagination and innovation across categories including comedy, drama, news and nonfiction series.

The College Television Awards will also include the presentation of the Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Scholarship. Established in 2009, the scholarship awards a \$10,000 cash prize to a student program that best portrays disability topics and issues or helps emerging artists with a disability gain recognition. In addition, the Seymour Bricker Humanitarian Award will be presented during the show.

The 39<sup>th</sup> College Television Awards will be held on Saturday, March 16, 2019, in the Wolf Theatre at the Academy's Saban Media Center, 5220 Lankershim Blvd., North Hollywood, California. The evening's festivities will kick off with a red carpet and pre-show reception from 5:30-6:45 PM followed by the awards ceremony from 7:00-8:00 PM.

To purchase tickets visit <u>TelevisionAcademy.com/RSVP-CTA</u>. Tickets are \$50 general admission and \$25 for students with ID.

The 39<sup>th</sup> College Television Awards is sponsored by philanthropists and corporate partners including PEOPLE®, HBO®, the Loreen Arbus Foundation, BBC Studios, FilmLA, Netflix, STARZ, Univision Communications Inc., and Audi®. Flights will be provided by United Airlines® for non-Los Angeles-based students to attend the summit and awards.

## **About the Television Academy Foundation**

Established in 1959 as the charitable arm of the Television Academy, the Television Academy Foundation is dedicated to preserving the legacy of television while educating and inspiring those who will shape its future. Through renowned educational and outreach programs, such as <a href="The Interviews">The Interviews</a>: An Oral History of Television Project, the <a href="College Television Awards">College Television Awards</a> and <a href="Student Internship Program">Student Internship Program</a>, the Foundation seeks to widen the circle of voices our industry represents and to create more opportunity for television to reflect all of society. For more information on the Foundation, please visit <a href="TelevisionAcademy.com/Foundation">TelevisionAcademy.com/Foundation</a>.

###

## **Media Contact:**

Jane Sparango **breakwhitelight** (for the Television Academy) jane@breakwhitelight.com
310-339-1214